Fiction

Queen of Thieves by Beezy Marsh

It’s my pleasure to be taking part in the blog tour for this recently published gangland saga from top ten Sunday Times bestselling author and journalist Beezy Marsh. It’s a real gripping page turner which I really enjoyed. Thank you to the publisher Orion Dash for an advance copy of the book and for an invitation onto the blog tour.

About the Book

Gangland was a man’s world – but the women knew different

London, 1946.

Alice Diamond, the Queen of the Forty Thieves, rules over her gang of hoisters with a bejewelled fist. Nell is a slum girl from Waterloo, hiding a secret pregnancy and facing a desperately uncertain future.

Sensing an opportunity to exploit Nell’s vulnerabilities, Alice takes her under her wing and, before long, Nell is experiencing the secret world of hoisting, with all the dangers – and glamorous trappings – that comes with this underworld existence.

Alice has a longstanding feud with Billy Sullivan’s all-male gang in Soho, and thinks Nell could be a useful weapon in her vendetta. But Nell has a secret agenda of her own, and is not to be underestimated. And the more she is exploited by both Alice and Billy, the more her hunger for revenge grows. As she embraces the seedy underbelly of London, will she prevail in carving out her own path to power and riches…

…and crown herself the Queen of Thieves?

From Sunday Times bestselling author Beezy Marsh comes a thrilling new crime saga series, perfect for fans of Sam Michaels, Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

What I thought

Oooh this book was so good. I won’t go into the plot too much because it’s one that should be enjoyed without knowing too much beforehand. It completely captured the era with all the talk of rationing, which went on for some time even after the war had ended. For the ordinary working class of a London inner city area like Waterloo times were hard for everyone. They had to make a living which ever way they could and family life living in a tenement slum was a hard slog. Men who spent their spare time and not so spare money in the pub, leaving their wives and children to barely get by meant young girls like Nell couldn’t wait to get away. Once she found herself pregnant, Nell didn’t have much choice but to find somewhere else to live after her father threw her out.

I loved the characterisation. No matter whether the characters were good or bad, they had so much to offer the reader. Young Nell who had to learn to toughen up very quickly once she left home, Alice Diamond and her side kick Molly who take Nell into their shoplifting gang, to some of the kinder characters like Gypsy who Nell meets later on in the book at the club in Soho run by Alice’s arch rival Billy Sullivan.

There are some gritty moments throughout, and I found myself flying through the pages to see what would happen next. The atmosphere is palpable, with vivid descriptions of all the locations, from the expensive department stores where the 40 thieves carried out their hoists to the miserably squalid living conditions and the club in Soho which attracted so many undesirables.

It all culminates in a tense ending which leaves you wondering what next? This will be the first book in a saga series so perhaps we’re not done with these characters yet. I hope not because once I finished this book I found I really missed the tension and the thrill, making it hard to move on to a new book, with anything else seeming tame in comparison.

I am hooked now and can’t wait to see how this series develops.

♥ Happy Reading ♥

Rating: 5 out of 5.

The book is out now in e-book format and is due to be released in paperback on 23 September. Buy on Amazon


Author Bio

Beezy Marsh is a top ten Sunday Times bestselling author, who has also held the coveted No.1 slot in Canada for three months. She puts family and relationships at the heart of her writing. She is an award-winning journalist who has spent more than 20 years making the headlines in newspapers including The Daily Mail and The Sunday Times. Beezy is married with two sons, and lives in Oxfordshire.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s