Fiction

The Island by Mary Grand

About the book

The Island – where everyone knows everyone, and secrets are impossible to keep….

‘Be careful, you don’t know them as well as you think. Remember – anyone can kill.’

Juliet has returned to the Isle of Wight from years abroad to visit her sick father and to be reunited with her three sisters – Cassie, a professional musician who seems to have lost her way in life, Mira, who is profoundly deaf, is married to the local vicar but their relationship is falling apart, and Rosalind, glamorous and charming but now deeply unhappy and secretive about her life.

As Juliet’s father lies dying, he issues her with a warning. There is a killer on the loose, and they may be closer than she can ever imagine. He anxiously tells Juliet that he confided a family secret in son-in-law Rhys, and now regrets ever saying a word.

Days later, as the clock strikes one in the morning, a man comes out of Rhys’s church, walks along the path and is run down by a car driven by an unidentified person. When the finger of suspicion points to Juliet, she realises the only way to clear her name is to uncover the secrets her family has been keeping from her for years. But with a killer on the loose, danger is getting closer all the time…

The Island is set on the Isle of Wight – insular, claustrophobic, and where secrets are hard to keep. Mary Grand’s heart-stopping who-dunnits are perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, Agatha Christie and Lucy Foley.

What I thought

This is a brilliant mystery/who-dunnit that will keep you turning the pages as mysteries deepen and the finger of suspicion points at just about everyone in Juliet’s family at some point, and its mainly Juliet who harbours the suspicions. There are more twists and turns than a cork-screw in this book, just when you think you might have guessed who the perpetrator is, Juliet uncovers more evidence to cast doubt on what she thinks may have happened.

I’m not even going to attempt to go into the plot, mainly for fear of letting something slip. It kept me reading late into the night. I’m someone who can normally easily put down a book once I’ve reached the end of a chapter. However, this one seemed to have chapters that always ended on some kind of cliffhanger or huge clue, so I would find myself reading a few lines from the next chapter only to end up carrying on through to the next. It’s that kind of book.

Juliets family is a complicated one. After their father’s sudden death, sisters who thought they knew each other inside out suddenly become secretive and it’s the secrecy, along with her Father’s death-bed warning that makes Juliet begin to wonder about her family.

I loved the setting. Set on the Isle-of-Wight with descriptions of walks along the beach, the quietness out of season and the bustle of tourists once the season gets going, the author has painted a picture of the beauty of the island but also the eeriness of hidden away places and the ever changing weather – very atmospheric.

I really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend to anyone who likes to curl up with a good mystery.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

♥ Happy Reading ♥


Thank you to the publisher Boldwood Books for an advance review copy of the book via Netgalley

The book is out today on Kindle and other ebook platforms.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s