Fiction

Life After You by Sian O’Gorman

About the Book

What if the one you’ve lost, is the one person you need to find?

Milly Bryne’s world came crashing down when she lost her beloved Dad and boyfriend in a matter of weeks.

Losing her Dad has broken her family. Losing her soul mate made has made her give up on life and love.

After swerving from stability to chaos to despair, Milly finally believes she has her life back on track when the unexpected return of a familiar face to Ireland throws her life once more into a spin.

Milly is forced to decide if her new life is the one for her, or if there is another path that will bring even greater riches of joy, excitement and fun into her world.

Life just isn’t worth living if your heart isn’t in it?

Meaningful and moving, a beautiful story with life-affirming qualities. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern and Cathy Kelly.

What I thought

I read Friends Like Us by this author 4 years ago. Although I can’t honestly remember the story from that book, I do remember enjoying it and the authors name had stuck with me so I was thrilled to see she had a new book out.

There are interesting plot lines along with some very likeable characters. There’s Milly’s mum who’s met someone new after the death of her husband five years ago. Milly and her sister whilst certainly not expecting their mum to live alone the rest of her life, still can’t help thinking about their Dad and wondering if their mum should be moving on. Milly’s sister is having a tough time, still grieving for her Dad, working hard as a nurse in a care home, where it doesn’t help seeing death on a regular basis. Then Milly herself, still struggling very much over the loss of her Dad, and not helped by the fact that her boyfriend abandoned her too, just days after her fathers death.

It’s not all doom and gloom though, there’s Milly’s house mate and long term friend Siobhan who brings a bit of light relief into Milly’s otherwise stressful life. Then there’s Catriona, Milly’s boss. A high flying lawyer, determined to break through that glass ceiling in what is very much still a man’s world; that is until she has a baby with hilarious consequences (though not quite so hilarious for Catriona).

There’s just loads going on in the story, always something to keep the reader interested and turning the pages. Much of it along the theme of coming to terms with grief in respect of the loss of a much loved parent, and also anxiety and dealing with that. Sensitively written and all wrapped in a compelling tale of love lost and found.

I enjoyed it very much and give four stars here and on Amazon.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

♥ Happy Reading ♥


The book is published today in e-book format and is available on Amazon and Kobo

Thank you to the publisher Boldwood Books for an advance copy via Netgalley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s